Call Control App Permission Overview

This page summarizes the permissions that are requested during the installation and ongoing use of Call Control in order to provide our users a complete summary of how Call Control accesses the information on your phone and how it’s used during the operation of Call Control.

We maintain extremely high ethical standards surrounding the permissions you grant to us and the private information Call Control has access to and are committed to using this information only to make Call Control function in the manner that you specifically determine.


Android

Required Permissions for Call Control to Operate

Phone Permission

Overview: This is a core permission required for Call Control to read the caller ID of incoming phone calls and block these calls either by sending to voicemail or disconnecting the call. We also require this permission so that we can monitor for emergency calls (e.g. 911) to ensure those calls are not interfered with.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission during the initial installation of Call Control.

Contacts Permission

Overview: This is a core permission required for Call Control which allows access to your contacts, which is essential so that your contacts are never blocked and facilitates many features within Call Control to create rules based upon your contacts.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission during the initial installation of Call Control.

Optional Permissions Based on Your Use

Messaging (SMS/MMS) Permission

Overview: This permission is required only if you want Call Control to be able to block incoming spam text and MMS messages. Without this permission, Call Control is unable to block text messages but phone calls will still be blocked.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission either when you first install the app during the setup wizard and/or when trying to enable Message Blocking within Call Control both in Settings or the Messages screen.

Storage Permission

Overview: This permission is required only if you want to back-up your settings to the local storage on your phone.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission when you attempt to enable backups, either saving a backup or restoring a backup, from the settings menu within Call Control.

Draw Over the App

Overview: This permission is required for the Enhanced Caller ID feature within Call Control and allows Call Control to display information about an incoming call during a phone call event on your phone. Call Control does this by displaying a small box of information overlayed on top of the incoming call (and you can adjust the location of the display box in the Call Control settings screen).

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission when enabling Enhanced Caller ID from within Call Control settings.

Additional permissions required if using Call Control Home

These permissions are only requested if you’re setting up and using Call Control Home. Not sure what Call Control Home is? Click here to learn more about our device for blocking robocalls on your landline.

Location

Overview: This permission is requested when setting up Call Control Home and is required to enable Bluetooth on Android phones. This also enables us to know the location of the Call Control Home device to localize call blocking settings optimized to your location.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission when you attempt to connect to a Call Control Home device.


iPhone

The following is a permission summary and overview for the iOS platform which are all optional.

Notifications

Overview: This is an optional permission which allows Call Control to display notifications and status updates. While this permission isn’t required for the operation of Call Control, but will ensure you are notified when your database is outdated or an update is available.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission during the initial installation of Call Control right after creating an account or signing in for the first time.

Contacts

Overview: This is an optional permission for Call Control which allows access to your contacts, which is ensures that your contacts are never blocked and facilitates many features within Call Control to create rules based upon your contacts.

When is it Requested: You’ll be prompted for this permission during the initial installation of Call Control right after creating an account or signing in for the first time.